Before logging an issue, please update to the latest release of Visual Micro from the Downloads Page.

When Logging a Support Issue in the Forum, please ensure you have also:-

• Enabled vMicro > Compiler > Show Build Properties
  • Re-Compile your program with these settings enabled

Save the new Output to a Text File and....
  • Click the Reply button and attach as .txt file OR
  • Click here to Email us with the file attached, and a link to your post
Support requests without the output above may be impossible to answer, so please help us to help you

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic External Dependencies (Read 7107 times)
Zeddicus
Newbies

External Dependencies
Sep 14th, 2015 at 7:35pm
Print Post  
Hello,

I am just getting started with Arduino and am having some behaviors I don't understand.

I am working in Windows 10, Visual Studio 2015 / Visual Studio Online, Visual Micro 1509.14.0 and Arduino 1.6.5 / Uno.

I created a new project in Visual Studio and included SoftwareSerial.h from the add library menu.  Everything compiled and IntelliSense was working just fine.

After some time and for reasons I don't understand the #include has started telling me it can't find the source file and some words like String are showing as undefined.  When I compare to a new blank/working project the only difference I can see is that the problem project has nothing listed under External Dependencies.

I have started from scratch a few times and have not yet figured out what causes the External Dependencies to all disappear.  No amount of specifying or not specifying paths in the Ide location windows / running rescan / reload tool chains seems to make any difference.

If I toggle Show Arduino Library Sources the External Dependencies populates again but the compile errors do not go away.  When I disable Show Arduino Library Sources then External Dependencies is empty again.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong? 

Thanks,
Shaun

IP Logged

Tim@Visual Micro