Before logging an issue, please update to the latest release of Visual Micro from the Downloads Page.

When Logging a Support Issue in the Forum, please ensure you have also:-

• Enabled vMicro > Compiler > Show Build Properties
  • Re-Compile your program with these settings enabled

Save the new Output to a Text File and....
  • Click the Reply button and attach as .txt file OR
  • Click here to Email us with the file attached, and a link to your post
Support requests without the output above may be impossible to answer, so please help us to help you

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Using GIT with Visual Studio 2019 / Visual Micro (Read 1233 times)
Danno
Newbies

Using GIT with Visual Studio 2019 / Visual Micro
Aug 4th, 2021 at 2:41am
Print Post  
I am a fairly seasoned software developer. I have used GIT with Visual Studio 2019 (and prior versions) for years now.  However, I'm just a little bit stymied by the implementation of Visual Micro, and how to best use GIT to track my projects because of the fact that it seems to want (strongly prefer) to store all projects in the MyDocuments/Arduino directory (which also happens to be where the libraries folder is located, which is huge).  I was thinking, well, I can just use the .gitignore file to ignore that entire folder.  But when I tried that, I get this strange error message:  "Invalid slug. Slugs must be lowercase, alphanumerical, and may also contain underscores, dashes, or dots."  I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

I'd really prefer to store my projects in a different location, but when I went to configure that (the "Optional sketchbook location") it says "best to leave empty, also affects location of libraries and hardware".  And that seemed like a pretty good deterrent.  Why can't it be smart enough to walk and chew gum at the same time?  I mean, this seems pretty crazy to me.  And it's hard for me to imagine not being able to use GIT with Visual Studio.

Any thoughts?

Dan