Before logging an issue, please update to the latest release of Visual Micro from the Downloads Page.

When Logging a Support Issue in the Forum, please ensure you have also:-

• Enabled vMicro > Compiler > Show Build Properties
  • Re-Compile your program with these settings enabled

Save the new Output to a Text File and....
  • Click the Reply button and attach as .txt file OR
  • Click here to Email us with the file attached, and a link to your post
Support requests without the output above may be impossible to answer, so please help us to help you

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic VM product ideas (Read 4939 times)
Simon Fedida
Newbies

VM product ideas
Jun 2nd, 2013 at 9:22pm
Print Post  
Hi -

I've been using VM for a couple of months now coding up a little project (info here http://astrobling.weebly.com/digital-setting-circles.html) and today just paid my sub ($15 = £19 ??)

So here are a couple of suggestions for VM product ideas that occurred to me while working on it - apologies if they have already come up or been discussed:

It would be very nice to be able to run code on a simulation of the arduino board(s) rather than download to the target.  There are 2 modes I would have in mind: 

the first is to be able to run code that doesn't reference target hardware at all: loads of code could be tested by loading up some start values and letting it run without ever going near the board.

Second mode would be if the arduino board could run a monitor program that executed primitive functions like reading/writing ports on command from the PC.  The debugger on the PC runs the user code, intercepts any arduino or hardware function calls, relays them to the monitor, gets the results back and hands them over to the user code. Obviously any critical timings would be all over the place, but you would have the advantage of debugging your code executing on the PC.

Thats my 2 bits.  

Simon

IP Logged

Tim@Visual Micro
Administrator