Before logging an issue, please update to the latest release of Visual Micro from the Downloads Page.

When Logging a Support Issue in the Forum, please ensure you have also:-

• Enabled vMicro > Compiler > Show Build Properties
  • Re-Compile your program with these settings enabled

Save the new Output to a Text File and....
  • Click the Reply button and attach as .txt file OR
  • Click here to Email us with the file attached, and a link to your post
Support requests without the output above may be impossible to answer, so please help us to help you

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic sketches as dll's? (Read 7035 times)
GregC
Newbies

sketches as dll's?
Jan 19th, 2014 at 8:30pm
Print Post  
Hey!  I've been a VS programmer for several years, but am new to the micro-controller world.  I'm currently working with an Uno with a fingerprint scanner attached.  I want to create a Windows app that will communicate serially with the scanner through the Uno.  I'm thinking a VB GUI with c++ dll's to handle the communication between computer, Uno and scanner.  Can I compile Arduino sketches as dll's?  Is there a better way?

IP Logged

Tim@Visual Micro
Administrator

Re: sketches as dll's?
Reply #1 - Jan 20th, 2014 at 2:30am
Print Post  
Hi Greg,

Not sure I fully understand but there are lots of examples on the arduino playground and stackoverlow etc.

I'll add a few quick tips if I understand correctly.

1)

The Arduino code doesn't compile into a windows dll and is always uploaded to the Arduino processor via usb or some other means. The arduino code is capable of sending and receiving Serial.

2)

I expect the scanner is connected to some arduino pins and has a library or some sample code. In that case you can combine the reading and printing of serial on the arduino with the scanner code.

3)