Before logging an issue, please update to the latest release of Visual Micro from the Downloads Page.

When Logging a Support Issue in the Forum, please ensure you have also:-

• Enabled vMicro > Compiler > Show Build Properties
  • Re-Compile your program with these settings enabled

Save the new Output to a Text File and....
  • Click the Reply button and attach as .txt file OR
  • Click here to Email us with the file attached, and a link to your post
Support requests without the output above may be impossible to answer, so please help us to help you

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Debugging Tutorial Doesn't Work Properly (Read 1273 times)
Jeff H
Newbies

Debugging Tutorial Doesn't Work Properly
Aug 6th, 2019 at 7:01pm
Print Post  
Hi-

I'm just starting to learn how to use the debugger but I'm following the tutorial and it isn't behaving as expected.  According to the tutorial it is supposed to pause the program at the breakpoint.  Mine just streams infinite information in the output. I'm using VS2019 and W10.   https://www.visualmicro.com/page/User-Guide.aspx?doc=Debugging-Walkthrough-1.htm...;

11:44:52.341 [up:09s:511ms perf:244ms]   BlinkWithoutDelay.ino, line 49            millis()=9511
     Millis is currently 9511.
11:44:52.573 [up:09s:761ms perf:244ms]   BlinkWithoutDelay.ino, line 49            millis()=9761
     Millis is currently 9761.
11:44:52.889 [up:10s:011ms perf:244ms]   BlinkWithoutDelay.ino, line 49            millis()=10011
     Millis is currently 10011.

If I remove the automatic breakpoint and put my own in at the same spot it then does pause the program BUT it will not display the millis like the tutorial shows.  All I get is this:

Program Running 'BlinkWithoutDelay'
11:59:36.524    BlinkWithoutDelay.ino, line 49
BlinkWithoutDelay is paused at BlinkWithoutDelay.ino, line 49

Any help would be greatly appreciated.