Before logging an issue, please update to the latest release of Visual Micro from the Downloads Page.

When Logging a Support Issue in the Forum, please ensure you have also:-

• Enabled vMicro > Compiler > Show Build Properties
  • Re-Compile your program with these settings enabled

Save the new Output to a Text File and....
  • Click the Reply button and attach as .txt file OR
  • Click here to Email us with the file attached, and a link to your post
Support requests without the output above may be impossible to answer, so please help us to help you

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Using visual micro with Visual studio and github (Read 2372 times)
Ade
Newbies

Using visual micro with Visual studio and github
Oct 15th, 2019 at 4:56pm
Print Post  
Sorry for a complete noob question, but what is the best process for using github for version control/storage and sharing of the code between two computers (my desktop and my laptop).  It seems that either you can't or just that I don't know how to force all libs/board packages into the project directory. I can get the project to compile on one machine, but it fails with dependency errors on the second (laptop).

Thanks

IP Logged

Tim@Visual Micro
Administrator

Re: Using visual micro with Visual studio and github
Reply #1 - Oct 19th, 2019 at 2:51pm
Print Post  
Hi,

You have two options. 

The 1st is the way you are working which means to ensure you have installed the same Arduino libraries on both machines.

or complete source control ...

If you look at the "Add Library" menu in Visual Micro you will see an option that says "Clone to Solution". Using that option then selecting any libraries you want to use will automatically create a local COPY of a library alongside the solution. The option will also add a new project into the solution and add  reference from the arduino project to the library.