Before logging an issue, please update to the latest release of Visual Micro from the Downloads Page.

When Logging a Support Issue in the Forum, please ensure you have also:-

• Enabled vMicro > Compiler > Show Build Properties
  • Re-Compile your program with these settings enabled

Save the new Output to a Text File and....
  • Click the Reply button and attach as .txt file OR
  • Click here to Email us with the file attached, and a link to your post
Support requests without the output above may be impossible to answer, so please help us to help you

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 8 Replies) Debugging using simulator or atmel-ice (attiny84a) (Read 10937 times)
0xCDCDCDCD

Debugging using simulator or atmel-ice (attiny84a)
Jan 14th, 2018 at 5:49pm
Print Post  
Hi,

I'm kinda new to the embeded world and I tried to keep the arduino platform around to be able to use all those ready to go libraries.

I did build an arduino sketch from the Arduino IDE using a board for a attiny84a (without the bootloader) - without any serial port nor available pins.

So I found the AtmelStudio which should (Q1: i guess? or VisualStudio should be a better idea?) be a good IDE, allowing me to use the atmel-ice I got or just use the simulator, great ! My projects are still simples enough to be able to use the simulator right now, but with external input I guess it is going to be better soon to stick to the atmel-ice; Q2: right?)

After a couple of read I have to disable your debugger (by using the "AtmelStudio Debugger") because I have no serial port and would get an compilation error otherwise.

I know to be able to use the simulator I have to configure it in the AtmelStudio... but for whatever reason your plugin seem to force the targeted IC to ATSAM3X8E.

Issues
1) I can't set the target IC because it isn't supported (wtf!?)