Before logging an issue, please update to the latest release of Visual Micro from the Downloads Page.

When Logging a Support Issue in the Forum, please ensure you have also:-

• Enabled vMicro > Compiler > Show Build Properties
  • Re-Compile your program with these settings enabled

Save the new Output to a Text File and....
  • Click the Reply button and attach as .txt file OR
  • Click here to Email us with the file attached, and a link to your post
Support requests without the output above may be impossible to answer, so please help us to help you

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 8 Replies) Step Into C++ Code? (Read 3249 times)
Terence D
Newbies

Step Into C++ Code?
Feb 3rd, 2022 at 8:12pm
Print Post  
Hi! I just started using VisualMicro.  I'm an experienced developer and have used Visual Studio A LOT over the years.

I have an Adafruit Feather M0 Bluefruit LE I'm using VisualMicro with to run some BLE examples from Adafruit.

Adafruit provides this Arduino library with examples.  It works great.  It's in C++.  What I'd *REALLY* like to do though is step through the code and I'm having a problem getting to the C++ code.

I have VisualMicro installed in Visual Studio 2022 Community Edition.  I'm able to load an Adafruit BLE example using it.  It builds, flashes it to my Adafruit board and runs fine.  I'm even able to set breakpoints in the INO code of the example and when debugging these breakpoints get hit.

The one problem is that when hitting F11 it's not stepping into the Adafruit C++ code as one might expect, but instead it will just jump to the next INO breakpoint.

I've tried to load the C++ code into Visual Studio and add breakpoints to it as well, but they don't get hit.

So, I'm wondering if VisualMicro is only meant to allow stepping through INO code or if I'm doing something wrong?  Anyone?

IP Logged

Simon@Visual Micro
Administrator

Re: Step Into C++ Code?
Reply #1 - Feb 3rd, 2022 at 9:57pm
Print Post